PISA Germany

The Programme for International Student Assessment gathers skills and knowledge of students worldwide and compares them internationally. PISA is a project of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

On behalf of the standing Conference of the Minister of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany (KMK), the national project management for PISA 2022 (after 2018, 2015 and 2012) is managed by the Center for International Student Assessment (ZIB), located at the Technische Universität München (Munich, Germany). Prof. Dr. Kristina Reiss is responsible for the scientific project management.

The three main domains of PISA - Scientific-, Reading-,  and Mathematical Literacy  - are key to lifelong learning. PISA assesses the performance of 15 year-olds, provides information on the results of teaching and learning in schools and shows developments in the educational system. The conformity of the test items with the curricula of the participating countries is less important than the measurement of basic competences in different application situations. The concept of literacy in PISA is therefore functionalistic: 15-year-old students should use the competences they acquired in school in diverse applied situations. Accordingly, the PISA test is entirely computer based since 2015.

The 2018 survey of PISA has recently been completed.  The results were published at a press conference in December 2019. Currently, the 2022 study is being prepared with a focus on mathematics.

Herzlich willkommen!

Das „Programme for International Student Assessment“ (PISA) erfasst weltweit Schülerleistungen und vergleicht diese international. Initiator des Programms ist die OECD (Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung). 

Im Auftrag der Ständigen Konferenz der Kultusminister der Länder in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (KMK) hat das Zentrum für internationale Bildungsvergleichsstudien (ZIB) an der TU München nach 2012, 2015 und 2018 auch das nationale Projektmanagement für PISA 2021 in Deutschland übernommen. Die wissenschaftliche Projektleitung obliegt Prof. Dr. Kristina Reiss. 

Die Testungen in PISA 2018 sind nun abgeschlossen. Die Ergebnisse werden im Dezember 2019 auf einer Pressekonferenz veröffentlicht. Derzeit wird die Studie 2021 mit dem Schwerpunkt Mathematik vorbereitet.

Die drei untersuchten Kompetenzbereiche in Naturwissenschaft, Lesen und Mathematik sind ein zentraler Bestandteil lebenslangen Lernens. PISA stellt das Leistungsniveau der Jugendlichen fest, liefert Informationen über Ergebnisse des Lehrens und Lernens in den Schulen und zeigt Entwicklungen im Bildungssystem auf. Dabei ist weniger die Übereinstimmung der Testaufgaben mit den Lehrplänen der teilnehmenden Länder von Bedeutung als die Erfassung von Basiskompetenzen in verschiedenen Anwendungssituationen. Das Grundbildungskonzept, von dem PISA ausgeht, ist also funktionalistisch: 15-jährige Schülerinnen und Schüler sollen in möglichst authentischen Aufgaben ihre in der Schule erworbenen Kompetenzen anwenden. Diesem Anspruch folgend findet der PISA-Test seit 2015 vollständig am Computer statt.